TU Berlin

Intl. Graduate Research Training Group 1524Spring School 2017

Self-assembled soft matter nano-structures at interfaces

Page Content

to Navigation

Springschool 2017 „Self-Assembly in Soft Matter Systems“


Date: 03/05/ - 03/11/2017

Director: M. Schoen (IRTG 1524)

Organisation: D. Fliegner, P. Erdmann, B. Thiele

Venue: Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College

295 Hale Street, Beverly, MA 01915

Phone: (978) 867-1800


Bhuvnesh Bharti, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Assembly, structuring, and active motion in colloidal dispersions:

  1. Electrostatic interactions
  2. External field induced interactions

Coray Colina, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA

  1. In silico synthesis and characterization of amorphous materials
  2. pySIMM, nuSIMM and polymatic: in silico tools for the synthesis and characterization of amorphous materials

William Ducker, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA, USA

Surface Forces:

  1. Calculation and Measurement
  2. Measurement of the Hydrophobic Force, and Development of Surfaces to Prevent Bacterial Adhesion

Andreas Heuer, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany

  1. Non-linear driving of particles in disordered systems: a potential energy landscape perspective
  2. Shearing of glasses and supercooled liquids & Frame-guided assembly of amphiphilic molecules

Bradley D. Olsen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA

  1. Swelling and Mechanics of Polymer Networks
  2. Effect of Defects on the Properties of Polymer Networks

Margarida Telo da Gama, Universidade de Lisboa, Lisbon, Portugal

  1. Wetting of liquid crystals at structured substrates: statics and dynamics
  2. Nematic films at structures surfaces: anchoring transitions and elastic instabilities

Thomas Zemb, ICSM, Marcoule, France

Introduction to solvation-entropy driven weak aggregation:

  1. Pre-nucleation clusters of  hydrated electrolytes
  2. Ternary mixtures containing hydrotropes with microemulsion-like properties



Daniel Armstrong (NCSU)

Francesco Bonazzi (MPIKG)

Natasha Morales Castellanos (NCSU)

Jose Angel Danglad (MPIKG)

Eleanor Ewins (MPIKG)

Ting Ge (UNC)

Josua Grawitter (TU Berlin)

Kohee Han (NCSU)

Guo Jun Liao (TU Berlin)

Yangju Lin (Duke)

Yiliang Lin (NCSU)

Ryan Maloney (NCSU)

Jason Miles (NCSU)

Davoud Mozhdehi (Duke)

Jessica Nash (NCSU)

Luis Navarro (Duke)

Esra Oguztürk (TU Berlin)

Dishit Parek (NCSU)

An Pham (Duke)

Abdul Rauf (HU Berlin)

Kaihang Shi (NCSU)

Ankush Singhal (MPIKG)

Marek Sokolowski (TU Berlin)

Jana Staffa (TU Berlin)

Radhika Vaid (NCSU)

Jacek Walkowiak (HU Berlin)

Stefanie Wandrei (TU Berlin)

Dong Wang (Duke)

Yuxin Xie (NCSU)


Supervisors/Administrative Staff

Jan Genzer (NCSU)

Sabine Klapp (TU Berlin)

Jürgen P. Rabe (HU Berlin)

Martin Schoen (TU Berlin)

Stefan Zauscher (Duke)

Daniela Fliegner (TU Berlin)

Petra Erdmann (TU Berlin)

Miquella Chavez (Duke)


Quick Access

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe